I Have A Dream


I have a dream!  For world peace?  For a grand vacation?  For happiness for my children? For a new car?  Sure – yes – sounds great… but I have a big dream that I would love to see come true – not just for myself, but for other like- minded women.

I would love having an “NFP (natural family planning) only” ob/gyn in my town.  The obstetricians who delivered my three children were good, gentle physicians who thankfully had the medical knowledge to handle my high risk pregnancies.  For bringing my children safely into this world, I will be eternally grateful.  Both of these physicians are members of Catholic parishes, and yet they prescribe  – and even encourage artificial means of birth control and perform sterilization surgeries. Disappointing.

I began praying years ago that an NFP doctor would come to our area.  My perseverance in prayer in this regard has not been that steadfast -but rather intermittent, I’m ashamed to say.   I truly believe that there are many women in St. Tammany parish who would patronize  a pro-life physician if one were available.   Last year, I made an appointment with the ob/gyn in Lafayette, but before my appointment, I had an issue that had to be addresses immediately.  I was “forced” to go to a local physician in order to be seen in a timely manner.  I’m still hoping!

A friend of mine travels all the way to her hometown of St. Louis to see an “NFP only” doctor.  Upon a recent visit, she brought back the name of a physician who oversees and trains residents for fully pro-life practices.

Perhaps, if we could show a resident in training how many people here are interested in a physician who is in full accordance with the Catholic faith (and other Christian faiths as well), we could attract him/her to our area.  We could show all the wonderful things that our community has to offer, such as:  great schools for children, wonderful churches, family friendly neighborhoods and environmental  beauty.  One of the residents just might consider moving to St. Tammany Parish.  That would be a dream come true!

If you have the same dream, or know of a friend or family member in Southeast Louisiana who does , please pass this post onto them by linking it to an email or re-posting it.  Leave a comment to my post.  I believe that with prayer and enough names, we might be able to convince a pro-life ob/gyn to consider calling our town “home.”

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Faith & Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Have A Dream

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Hi Dana, I haven’t dropped in for a while – I’ve been using my computer time to work hard on Thomas’ new blog and I am converting his book into an ebook – but I have been reading your posts via email. I’ve just enjoyed all your photos!

    A doctor spoke at Thomas’ book launch. She belonged to Doctors for Life, the sort of doctor you are praying for! I wonder if you have a branch of this international organisation near you.

    I have enjoyed catching up. God bless!

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you, Sue. I believe that I’ve checked out that website. There is no one close to us, but “Doctors for Life” might be able to point me in the right direction – and perhaps recruit someone to come here.

  2. Colleen says:

    Hey Dana! I can think of about 20 people right off the bat, myself included, who would absolutely LOVE an NFP only ob/gyn. I will definitely pass this on to them and I pray that your dream comes true. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts. Love the Bucket List and the story of the old lady…precious!

  3. AmandaS says:

    I truly do feel that way as well. I will begin praying that one such doctor will come locally to us.

Leave a Reply

