St. Lawrence the Martyr

St. Lawrence has quite and interesting story!  You can read it by clicking here.  I particularly like what (or should I say who) he called the Church’s treasure.  He died a torturous death for the love of Christ, but in parting left some humorous words.  What grace God must have provided Lawrence in his martyrdom!  Here’s a great prayer that I used with my students in honor of this saint’s feast today, August 10th.

O glorious Saint Lawrence, Martyr and Deacon, who, being subjected to the most bitter torments, did not lose your faith nor your constancy in confessing Jesus Christ, obtain in like manner for us such an active and solid faith, that we shall never be ashamed to be true followers of Jesus Christ, and fervent Christians in word and in deed.  Amen.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, Saints and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

