Tithing

I’ve been thinking about tithing for months – maybe even years now.  My family gives to charity and to the Church, but we are often guilty of giving of our excess – not truly giving till it hurts.  I was thinking yesterday morning while driving in my car on my way to meet two friends for breakfast.  I was questioning God about tithing.  “Is it something that You want from me, Lord?”  Each morning, I make an offering of my “prayers, works, joys and sufferings of the day.”  I offer Him all that I have and all that I am, BUT, if I don’t offer Him the FIRST fruits of my labor, have I really offered all of me?  Hmmm.

Well, in my experience, when God wants to make a point clear, He never holds back.  He did not let me down!  As I sat with my dear friends enjoying breakfast, one mentioned reading a book about trusting in Divine Providence and trying to really apply it to her life.  If that did fly over my head, my second friend brought a book to share with me.  It was called, “Living With Less so your Family Has More.”  On my way home, I passed a commercial building I’d never noticed.  It had a big sign on the side that read, “Mueller.”  Immediately, I recalled the story of George Mueller, a man in nineteenth century England who took in orphans.  He did not beg for support from the community.  He felt it his calling to be a living witness to God’s Providence.  When he and the kids would run out of food, they would pray and sing praises to God, and food would “show up.”

Today in church, the gospel was one of my favorites.  Matthew told of Peter walking on the water to Jesus – UNTIL he took his eyes off of Jesus and began to sink.  The message – Keep your eyes on Jesus and He can do the impossible in us.  When we try to handle the storms in life ourselves, we helplessly sink.  My checkbook says that tithing is impossible, but for God anything is possible.  We just have to have the faith to step out of the security of the boat and onto the water.  He will take care of the rest.

“Lord, help me to trust in Your promises.  Help me to trust in Your Divine Providence.  Help me to be more generous with You in the areas of time, talent and treasure.  Help me to be more generous to others.  Thank you for all the blessings You bestow upon our family each and everyday.  Keep us always close to Your Sacred Heart!  Amen.”

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

