Blessings of a Very Long Day

My body is having difficulty transitioning from “stay at home mom” time to “working mother” time.  I find myself yawning relentlessly come mid afternoon, longing for the luxury of a summer afternoon nap!  For today, and for the next couple of days, my feet will hit the ground running at 5:30 a.m. and not stop until about 9 p.m.  I seriously don’t know how medical personnel work twelve and even sixteen hour shifts.  That’s tough!

There are blessings that have come from this very long day, however.  I had a very peaceful ride to work.  I was able to offer a few prayers before merging onto the interstate.  Upon entering the highway, I was greeted by the most incredible orange sunrise!  It was gorgeous.  Then, I had the pleasure of sitting beneath an overpass while waiting for a red light.  There, I chuckled at the sight of hundreds of awkward pigeons perching on the concrete border – bumping and fluttering their way into the lineup.  I heard a couple of my favorite 80’s songs on the radio, and there were no children in the car to protest as I sang along!

This evening, when I picked up my children from my mother and father in laws’ house, my mother in law sent me home with delicious pork roast and stuffed cabbage to serve my family for dinner.  It was so thoughtful of her – and much appreciated since I didn’t have much time to throw a meal together before having to return to school for open house night.  My son’s teacher gave a friendly and informative presentation.  I left knowing that he will have a wonderful year.  That’s a tremendous blessing!

Finally, when I was able to hit the interstate one last time to return home at the end of a very long day, God treated me to a sunset that would surely exceed the beauty of the greatest artistic masterpiece created by man.  There were shades of amber, pink, indigo, lavender and orange.  A lone Mimosa tree in full bloom in the middle of a desolate lot of concrete also caught my eye.  Amazing!

If my Tuesday had not begun so early or ended so late, I may have missed  all of the great sights and sounds that God had waiting for me to discover. I’ve just topped off all of these gifts from above with something awesome from here below  – two chocolate chip cookies and a glass of milk – my reward to myself for perseverance!  Goodnight all!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in I Saw God Today, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

