God’s Mysterious Ways


The incredible way in which God works in our lives never ceases to amaze me.  In fact, I stand in awe of the care He takes in each and every detail of each and every life.  I truly believe that there is no such thing as coincidence.  Once, when my daughter was only a couple of months old, I had childcare all arranged for her, knowing that I’d have to go back to school in  August.  Two weeks before school started, I received a call from the sitter saying that due to health issues, she had to quit.  Oh my goodness – I had only two weeks left and nowhere to go with my precious baby girl.  I began to pray for an answer.  One night, I went up to the mall to purchase a greeting card.  I “bumped into” a neighbor of my mother’s, Mrs. Diane.  She congratulated me on the birth of my baby, and asked where I was going to bring her when I went back to school.  I explained my predicament to the woman, and she told me that she knew a lady who watched Diane’s grandchildren in her home.  The grandkids were going off to kindergarten, making two spaces available.  Coincidence?  I believe that it was all carefully orchestrated by a loving God.

Today was one of those wonderful days that I got an opportunity to see how God has been at work in my life and in my school community.  I had to plan a teacher retreat for our first day of the new school year.  I began praying about the theme I should choose back in May.  The word “love” kept coming up for me.

After the stressful and tragic events that our school community has been through in the last few weeks, “God’s faithful love” seemed to be just the comforting message that we all needed to hear.  Since God sees all – past, present and future – He knew what we would need and provided it for us by planting those seeds months ago, and bringing all to fruition.  One night, I was flipping television channels and came across a great inspirational movie that drove home the points I really wanted to stress about love during the retreat.  Coincidence?  I don’t think so.

I got the theme approved by our pastor, and I emailed him an agenda.  Other than that, we did not really collaborate.  However, today, it was uncanny how well his talk, and the associate pastor’s talk echoed and even used some of the very same key words as my morning talk and movie!

To top things off, I heard a very special song on the radio on my way  home.  It’s “God and my song” that I wrote about in a post a couple of months back.  Each time I facilitate a retreat, I hear that Rascal Flats song in the car while in transit.  The song goes something like this, “I’m already there.  Take a look around.  I’m the sunshine in your hair.  I’m the shadow on the ground.  I’m the whisper in the wind, and I’ll be there till the end.  Can you feel it?  The love that we share?  I’m already there…” Doesn’t that sound like God talking?  That just made my day!  He was with me all day, but of course, I already knew that!  His presence was abundantly evident.

Thank God that God is in control.  Thank God that He is working even when we don’t see it.  Thank God for His faithful love – that cares so much as to tend to every detail in our lives.  Thank God!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God’s Mysterious Ways

  1. Beth says:

    I have to comment, Dana, because I, too, do not believe in coincidences.
    Friday was the anniversary of Hunter’s passing. We had the flowers & the candle in the Sanctuary Lamp on the Blessed Morther’s Altar memorialized in Hunter’s name for this weeks’ Masses. As we entered church on Sunday morning the usher asked us if we would carry the gifts up for Communion. The girls have been asking us for weeks when we would be able to carry up the gifts. That in itself was a real gift for us! But on Friday we released balloons at St. Joseph’s Abbey, where Hunter was laid to rest, and we tied notes to them. My note was to God, asking him to please send us a sign that Hunter was okay, and that we should be okay, too…I think we got our sign. God is certainly good!!!

    • danardoyle says:

      I am so happy to hear that God answered your prayer for a sign. I don’t believe that it was a coincidence that ya’ll were asked to bring up the gifts last Sunday. (I saw ya’ll!) Keeping you close in prayer! Your faith amazes and inspires me!

  2. pattyabr says:

    As a wise person once said to me, coincidence is God’s way of being anonymous

  3. Mary Danna Seese says:

    I love that song too!

Leave a Reply

