Restless

“Our hearts are restless until they rest in You.”  St. Augustine

Today, I’m feeling a bit restless – in mind and heart.  It’s been one of those days when nothing seems to satisfy.  There are many days when all I want is “peace and quiet,” but even silence feels uneasy today.  The donut that I tried to reward myself with this morning was o.k. at best -  total waste of calories!  Completing my preparations at school did not give me the great feeling of accomplishment I had hoped for.  I thought I’d indulge in an hour-long television program and rest for a bit, but the show was just depressing.  The weather has been a bit dreary for several days.  Maybe it’s the lack of sunshine painting my world grey.

If I am truthful with myself, I’d have to admit that absolutely nothing of this earth could fulfill my deepest desires.  I long to be connected – to feel deep relaxation, safety – Peace.  I’m in need of some Sonshine (not to be corny).  I’ve been so busy with the kids and with work that I’m not making enough time for prayer.  I know that I will be forever restless until I rest in God – in heaven.  I’m craving just a little bit of that heaven right now.  Come Lord Jesus!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, Saints and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Restless

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,
    I am sitting here, across the world, thinking of you. I will send some love and prayers your way and hope your restless mood lifts. Yes, nothing of this earth really satisfies but there are a lot of things, such as family and work God has given us to do, that bring us joy and help on our pathway to Heaven. God bless!

    • danardoyle says:

      Now, I’m thinking of you! Thank you for the prayers and kind words. It’s a good thing that we’re not totally satisfied here, because we wouldn’t yearn for heaven and communion with God if things were great on earth.

  2. pattyabr says:

    Dana I had the same restlessness yesterday. thank you for expressing the words of St Augustine as a reminder to be centered when the world is tearing us in many directions.

    • danardoyle says:

      Isn’t it funny that we’re never alone. Someone is always going through the same thing we are. That is one cool thing about the internet – being able to reach out and make those connections. I hope you are feeling better today!

Leave a Reply

