Sweet Sunday Surprises

                            a snowy egret walking down our street



We were running late for church this morning.  We missed our usual 9 a.m. mass, so I used the internet to find the next service being offered in our vicinity.  I found a church with an 11 a.m. mass that we had never attended before.  The church was St. John the Baptist in Folsom – a beautiful, historic country church.  Just the building itself was a treat for the senses!  I know that these pictures are not the best quality.  It was storming when mass ended, and everyone huddled in the church for awhile until it cleared enough to leave.  I didn’t want to be too obvious/obnoxious with the camera.

After church, we drove to my in-laws house for lunch.  When I got out of our car, I nearly stepped on this snake.  It slithered off into the ditch while I screamed!  Thank goodness it was just a garden snake!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, photo entry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sweet Sunday Surprises

  1. Can I use your wonderful picture of the stain glass window in my book: Living In the Realm of Miracles and Angels ? I love the egret picture too. I have been wanting to paint an egret picture. I have been researching ideas today on pictures for my book and asking for guidance. And…here I find this awesome picture!! Hope you Summer has been good. God Bless. 🙂

  2. littlesoul2 says:

    Dana, I love your photography! Do you always have your camera with you? So many beautiful shots of nature on your blog. Thank you!

    • danardoyle says:

      I do have it with me in my purse most of the time – just in case I see something cool. It’s my way of capturing it – or taking a little bit of it with me!

  3. Sue Elvis says:

    What a beautiful church especially the altar. It has a few featues in common with our church’s altar. We have two angels as well. For many years the angels were wingless. Then one day Father found the wings in a cupboard under the stairs and reattached them to the angels. And no one noticed! Father had to point the wings out to us. Just shows how unobservant we all are! God bless, Dana!

  4. Liz Cenacle says:

    Dana,
    Love your photos We have a stately egret who stands by the pond in the cemetery across from our house. You have urged me to snap a shot of it. We live in the outer boro of Queens, NY City and this cemetery has 40+ acres of God’s gorgeous nature. Trees of maple, oak, & magnolia,some that are 100+ years old. A “quiet” place for prayer and walking which I am grateful for.
    God will provide the ways for us to tend our souls. I am sure the Good Shepherd will be walking with you as you ready yourself for a new school year. I am a retired teacher.

    • danardoyle says:

      It has been so neat to discover several teachers, homeschool teachers and retired teachers online! Your 40 acres nearby sounds like a little slice of heaven! I’m so glad that you have that place of solitude.

Leave a Reply

