…And He Does!

This morning, I sat down to my computer for the first time in days.  Lately, I’ve been either exceptionally busy, or when not busy, just not in the mood – in light of all that has happened in this past week.

I changed my screen saver to a beautiful photo of the Florida Gulf Coast that I took when we visited Destin in June.  The sounds of the waves, the blue-green of the water, the warm, moist sand just calms my mind and soul.  I could use some of that calm now, as things get set into motion to begin a new school year.

As I looked for a few minutes at this picture of the beach, I immediately thought of one of my favorite bible stores – that of Jesus and Peter out on the water.  Jesus walks so gracefully – effortlessly on the water because He is one with the Father.  Peter asks Jesus to call to him and he will be able to walk on the water, too.  Jesus calls, and Peter begins to walk on the waves.  It seems that just as soon as Peter realizes what he is doing, he panics and begins to sink.  I can really relate to Peter.  We have those moments, here and there – those precious, miraculous moments when it seems that our faith is bulletproof.  We begin to walk on those waves in the confidence of the God who supports us.  Then doubt sets in and betrays us.  “Help me, Jesus!  Reach out Your hand to save me!”

That’s kind of how I’ve been feeling lately, in light of all of the tragedy.  “Jesus, reach out your hand to save us!  Help us to believe in Your power.  Help us to believe in Your love.  Just help to keep us going.”  And He does. Praise God, He does.

“Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake.  When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.

  But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”

  “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

    “Come,” he said.

   Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

  Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

  And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down.  Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”  Matthew 14: 25-32

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational, scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to …And He Does!

  1. littlesoul2 says:

    Beautiful thoughts, Dana. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

