You Are Not Alone

There are some days when life just seems to get the best of me. I was thinking of not posting today, since I didn’t have anything upbeat to say.  The objective of my blog is, after all, to edify and encourage.

The events of this past week have been overwhelming emotionally.  One of our school’s former students lost her battle with brain cancer on Saturday – a beautiful, courageous young woman.  A current student was in a boating accident and has been lost at sea since Saturday – another absolutely lovely young lady with an infectious smile and a bubbly personality.  Teams are still searching for her.  The wait is simply agonizing.  When I think of her poor mother and family – what they are experiencing now – it upsets me greatly. While I was checking the obituaries for the first young lady to see if funeral arrangements had been set, I saw another of my former student’s names at the top of the list – a bright, awesome young man of thirty.  So much suffering.

I realized that through all of my sadness this weekend, I had not allowed myself to cry – I mean really cry.  This morning, I asked my middle child to watch over my youngest while I went to take a bath.  I locked myself in the bathroom, turned on the water and had a good, long cry, all the while asking, “Why?  Why?”  I needed that release of many pent-up, raw emotions.  I’m still sad, but my body feels lighter somehow, and I feel that now I can continue on with the tasks ahead of me today.

While these are not exactly “words of hope,” I guess I just wanted you to know it’s o.k. to cry out to God and ask, “Why?” You may not get your answer until you get to heaven, but God understands our human emotions and questions.  He wants us to be respectful of Him, but He also wants us to be honest. For me, just admitting my pain to God, and telling Him how sad I was helped somehow.  By letting God in, I allowed Him to share my burden.

If you are going through something similar, I  hope it helps you to know that you are not alone.  You are not alone.

“The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone…” John 8:29

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You Are Not Alone

  1. Beth T. says:

    Thank you, Dana. Thank you!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dear Dana, I am so sorry to hear of all the suffering that is affecting those beautiful people you know. It is so difficult to stand by and watch others suffer. I always think of Mary standing by the Cross. I have often asked, “Why God?” and no answer comes back. I have also sat in the bath and let those tears fall endlessly into the water. You are right. We need to do this some times. It helps us to carry on. We all know, because of our Faith, that Jesus is right beside us although He seems so far away. He is listening. But it can be a hard job to keep saying, “Jesus I trust in Thee”. I uttered this prayer endlessly when I was greving before and after Thomas’ death. The prayer was like breathing: so necessary for me to keep focused and carry on.

    Dana, I am writing quickly because I have only a moment, but I wanted you to know I am thinking about you and praying for all your immediate intentions even though I am so far away. Here, it is morning prayer time and we will remember you, your students, their families and your community. May God bless you all.

    • danardoyle says:

      Sue, you always take the time to write such thoughtful responses. I know, Sue, that you truly understand those suffering the loss of a child. I also know that you treasured the time you had with Thomas, however brief. My heart just goes out to those parents. The little girl who was lost at sea – her body was recovered today. I pray that this will help her family have some peace. I sincerely thank you for your kindness and prayers. Our new school year starts in a couple of weeks. I anticipate that it will be difficult on this young lady’s classmates. Pray that I will say the right things and do the right things to help them through this (as I will have them in my religion classes.) God Bless you and yours!

      • Sue Elvis says:

        Dana, the pain that the girl’s parents must be experiencing will be overwhelming. We will pray. And you will say the right thing. The Holy Spirit helps us, and even if the words aren’t quite right, your compassion and love and care will shine through and the words won’t matter. Just to be there to listen and support and enfold with love is all we can do sometimes. And of course, pray. God bless you, Dana.

  3. Maggie says:

    So sorry to hear of all that sadness. It’s heartbreaking.

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you, Maggie. It has been a rough couple of weeks. Now, I have the start of school to focus on – getting my classroom ready. It will be a wonderful distraction.

Leave a Reply

