Unanswered Prayers

I feel so sad – so deflated – this morning.  These past few days have been times of unprecedented suffering for our community.  It has also been a time of unprecedented prayer and unity – a sign to me that God is working in the midst of the tragedies.  I find myself, like most, looking for answers, and those answers are not forthcoming.  It’s frustrating, but mostly just sad.

All I do know with utter certainty is that God is a God of love.  He cherishes each of His precious children that He formed out of love in their mothers’ wombs as though each was His only child.  I know that He cares about our physical being, but He has the bigger picture – our eternal well-being at heart.  Our eternal well-being supercedes the physical.

We must keep in mind that God does not think the way that we do.  He is able to see everything – past, present and future – at one time.  As hard as it is to trust and to accept, He knows what is best for His children. Sometimes, in our pain, this reality is so difficult for us to see or accept.  Somehow, I know He understands.

Jesus was no stranger to suffering.  He was rejected, beaten, humiliated and finally died a horrible, painful death.  Why did He submit to the Father’s Will if He, being God Himself could have stopped it?  He did it to bring about a greater good – our salvation.  He did it, though He was completely without guilt or sin so that when we die, we may live in heaven with Him for all eternity.

It comforts me to know that Jesus walks with us in our time of great suffering and sorrow.  His mother does so as well.  Who could relate to our pain more than Mary?  She had to watch her son brutally murdered though he was innocent.  When we cry, she cries with us.

In this time of great anxiety and sadness, let us ask our Mother to wrap her mantle of grace around us, and to pray for each and every one of us that we may persevere in faith as Job once did.  The alternative is to live a life without hope.  We must not be tempted to give into despair.  Hope!  Hope in the Lord!

I found an article this morning that was somewhat helpful to me.  It is regarding coping with unanswered prayers.  If nothing, the references to people in the bible – some of God’s  beloved – who had to deal with unanswered prayer validated my own feelings at this difficult time.  May God grant you His peace!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unanswered Prayers

  1. pattyabr says:

    I am so glad I am a subscriber to your blog. Your insight is bringing me back to a time when I was closest to God.

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you so much, Patty! Your words are very encouraging. I just pray each day that God will use me in my teaching, mothering, writing…as He sees fit & to bring souls to Him.

  2. littlesoul2 says:

    Dana, I don’t know what happened to cause you such sorrow, but you are definitely in my prayers.
    Your post yesterday was beautiful. You can be sure God is using you. May He bless you today, and lift your spirits.

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I explained what all has happened in my post today. The little girl’s body was recovered today. Hopefully that will calm some of the anxiety for everyone. Now, we’re just sad.

  3. Esther says:

    What a beautiful post!
    I am sorry for the tragedy that happened so close to home.
    God bless,

Leave a Reply

