A Little Adventure

This morning, we woke up around 8:15 a.m. and hung out in our “jammies” for a couple of hours.  After two cups of hot, stiff coffee, I fired up the griddle and made some pancakes with blueberries we picked about two weeks ago.  Mmm!

As a family, we decided that we were up for a little adventure today.  (My eldest was going to practice some songs on his drums, so we knew that we needed to evacuate for a few hours to protect our ears and our sanity!)  I looked up the local forecast and radar for our area, and knew that we had some afternoon thunderstorms to beat.

We decided to ride our bikes from the Covington to the Abita Trailheads – a stretch that we had not covered before today.  We started in Covington on a path that meandered through the back streets of the downtown area.  It was shaded and charming.  That was followed by a long stretch that runs along highway 36.  Our objective was to make it to Abita where there is a wonderful water park in which to cool off.  We also thought we’d get a bite to eat before heading back.  As we approached Abita Springs, we encountered a roadblock.  That part of the trace was roped off because a bridge was being rebuilt!  Darn it!  We had to pedal all the way back to Covington.  Our little one who had his hopes set on playing in the park was not pleased!

Once we made it back to our car, we then drove to Abita.  We ate at a local pizza parlor called “Momma D’s.”  The owners were so friendly that by the time we left, our children wanted to hold their next birthday parties there!  While we looked at the menu, the cook hummed a pepperoni at my daughter, and then “blamed” it on my son. It was hilarious and all in good fun.  After we ordered, the chef asked my children if they wanted to make their own pizza.  He ordered them to go wash their hands and join him at the counter.  They had a blast!

We were able to beat the rain – it had just started as we finished lunch and were headed back to our car.  It was a great, little Saturday adventure!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, miscellaneous, photo entry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Adventure

  1. dichotomyof says:

    Wow – that pizza looks great! What I love best about this is how you all had such a great time despite things going slightly awry. 🙂

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    I am inspired to arrange a little family adventure of our own, Dana. I love that photo of the plant with the unusual pinkish flowers. Do you know its name?

    • danardoyle says:

      I hope that you do arrange a little family adventure! I wish I did know the name of the flower. It looked most unusual, that is what made me photograph it.

Leave a Reply

