Blessed Kateri & Matthew 11:28-30 – the Connection

I’m going to have to make this brief.  I’m off to a play date with my kids and their friends today – trying to pack in as much fun as we can before school starts.

While reading the gospel for today and also researching the saint of the day, Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha, I found a connection that spoke to me.  In the gospel for today, Jesus says, “Come to me all who labor and are heavy burdened, and I will give you rest.” (For full text, see Matthew 11:28-30) Blessed Kateri would get up around four a.m. each day and wait outside the chapel, even in inclement weather, for the doors to open.  She had a deep devotion for the Eucharist.  She would begin each day before the tabernacle, snuggling close to the Eucharistic heart of Jesus.

I am so blessed to work at a place that has an adoration chapel on campus.   I often punctuate my days/weeks at work with little visits to Jesus there.  His presence refreshes me and gives me the courage & mental energy to carry on the work God has placed me there to do.  Blessed Kateri evidently understood this on a deep level.

Let’s not take Jesus’ presence in our churches and chapels for granted.  Of course, He is with us wherever we are.  If we are unable to make it to a church, or chapel, we can certainly make a spiritual communion with Him by making time for silence and a little meditation wherever we are.  It is only in Him that we will truly find rest for our world-weary souls!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, eucharist, Saints, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessed Kateri & Matthew 11:28-30 – the Connection

  1. Beautiful post, Dana! Spending time in adoration is a great gift. We’re blessed to have a parish church which is open during the day so we can visit Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament any time.

Leave a Reply

