Blessings in Disguise

I believe that God placed this song on my heart to share with you this morning.  I fell asleep last night around ten, but then was awakened around 11:30 by restless legs.  I thrashed about for TWO hours, before settling down into slumber again.  The sweet sounds of this song on my alarm clock gently awakened me at six a.m.  “What if your blessings come through raindrops….What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near…”  God was talking to ME!

Personally, I believe that nothing is coincidence.  I believe that God communicates with us all of the time.  Have we put ourselves in a disposition to hear – to see?

Last night when I could not sleep, I was frustrated at first.  Then I remembered the morning offering I had said the day before.  “I offer you all my prayers, works, joys and sufferings of this day for all the intentions of Your Sacred Heart…”  This was one of those sufferings..

One of the reasons that I’m glad to be Catholic is the teaching regarding redemptive suffering – uniting our own pain to the cross of Christ for the good of mankind.   If unite our pain, our frustration, our hurt to Jesus’ suffering, we offer it to Him as a prayer.  We ask Him to use it…for the souls in purgatory…for our relative who is away from the faith….for the poor…the dying…for wherever His Beautiful Heart sees fit. There is so much suffering in this life.  It comforts me to know that my aches and pains aren’t for nothing – that they doesn’t go to waste.

I know that some of the great saints would bring pain upon themselves in order to suffer for Christ.  I don’t think that this is His Will for us.  He tells us that our bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, and as such we should care for our bodies and respect them.  There is certainly enough pain in this life to offer up without having to cause it for ourselves!

I suffer from terrible, debilitating migraines from time to time.  The idea of using my pain as a prayer has been so helpful to me.  It doesn’t necessarily remove the hurt, but it does give me a sense of peace to know that my pain is not being wasted – that I am doing some good, even when I’m flat out on my back and not able to do anything else.

I hope you enjoy the video.  I also hope that you can put into practice the concept of redemptive suffering in your life as one of those  “blessings in disguise” –  graces from God above.  May God grant you His Peace!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, faith, Informational, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blessings in Disguise

  1. Beth T. says:

    That was beautiful, Dana! Thanks for sharing.

  2. littlesoul2 says:

    Beautiful post, Dana! Thanks for reminding me to offer up every little pain and disappointment, etc. Not to waste anything!

    • danardoyle says:

      Did you like the song? I couldn’t stop humming it today.

      • littlesoul2 says:

        I LOVED the song! Thanks so much for sharing!

        I used to have restless legs too, but I started taking lots of vitamins, and the problem went away. Hope you find a solution that works for you.

      • danardoyle says:

        I’m taking potassium supplements before bed at night – I think it works most of the time – Maybe I should take it earlier in the day so that it has more time to take effect. Have you discovered any triggers?

  3. Sue Elvis says:

    We are kindred spirits, Dana! I suffer from restless legs so often I have forgotten what it is like to have a good night’s sleep. Sometimes I get very frustrated and overtired. But, like you, I have been trying to use that suffering. What a lot we can use and offer, especially for others, if we only look at it with the right eyes. Great post, Dana! I haven’t had any one to share this particular trial with. Thanks for listening. God bless!

Leave a Reply

