My Apologies

For those tuning in for something edifying, I promise to write something more typical of my website this afternoon.

To my regular readers who often leave me comments and words of encouragement through WordPress, I apologize.  Though I’ve been at this blogging thing for about six months now, I’m still learning the finer points of the system – through trial and error – mostly error.

I sat down this morning to catch up on responding to comments, and I discovered a big “boo boo” that I have been making.  I thought that once I responded to a comment and “approved” both the comment and my reply, that I could go back and clear out my own responses that were in my file of comments – kind of cleaning up after myself.  I would also go back and clear out old comments that people made periodically, making sure that I saved at least one response from each internet friend so that I could go back to view his/her site.  (You see, I still haven’t figured out how to add blog pages to my list of favorites to revisit other than to subscribe.  I have subscribed to a few pages, but only two actually have made it to my email inbox – so frustrating.)

Anyway, I have responded to nearly all of the comments you’ve made in past months, but may have put my response in the “garbage” shortly after posting it, thinking that it would remain on my blog page.  Dreadfully, I found out this morning that is not how it works.  Can someone tell me, do I keep all comments and responses in my “Comments” section of my dashboard forever?

Thanks for any advice you can give.  Eek!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Apologies

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Oh Dana! I am smiling. This is the kind of thing I do. As I’m on Blogger, not WordPress, I can’t offer any advice except to say I’m sure everyone understands and don’t worry! God bless.

  2. littlesoul2 says:

    Hi Dana, you have my sympathy! I’m new at this blogging thing as well, and have been mostly using trial and error. The WordPress Forum whch can be found by clicking the Get Support tab on the drop down menu under My Account on your dashboard is very helpful. I often post questions there, and get almost immediate help.

    To create a blogroll of your favorites, which you can click on and visit, go to your dashboard and click on the “link” icon. A short menu will appear; click “add new link”. Then a page will show up where you can type in the Name of the blog you want to add: CatholicWorkingMom, for example. Then you will see a box where you can type the URL, so go ahead and do that. Then look below where you will see several categories of links. One of them is “blogroll”. Check that one, and you are almost done! Look to the right upper side of the screen and it will have a blue button which reads “Add link.” Click it and you should be good to go. The name of the blog you like should appear on the Home page of your blog. Oh, be sure that the box at the right marked “keep private” is NOT checked, or the link won’t appear publicly.

    You will have to repeat this process for each blog you want to add to your blogroll. Hope this helps!

    I’m so glad to find out that you deleted your comments, because I’ve been trying to relocate one you left in response to me on your blog. It was so lovely, and I wanted to re-comment. It was about the young priest in your parish who so lovingly purifies the chalice and ciborium. Now I understand why it disappeared : ) Well, most of us are still trying to learn here. I know I am! It took me the longest to figure out how to add pictures to the sidebar. Good luck and God bless!

Leave a Reply

