Simple Summer Pleasures


Tonight, as I get ready to turn in and say my prayers, I’m thanking God for lots of things, but especially for these simple summer pleasures that I’ve been blessed to experience:

eating figs fresh off of the tree

ice cream

barefootin’

sitting out in lawn chairs with neighbors watching the kids play

swimming

the smell of tropical sunscreen

sleeping with just a clean, crisp sheet – (I know what you’re thinking – I mean with no blankets!)

sleeping late(r) in the mornings

pancakes breakfasts

the feel of sand in my toes

growing vegetables

blueberry picking (and eating!)

iced tea and ice water

enjoying a good book

hummingbirds and butterflies

walking the neighborhood at dusk

play dates with the children’s friends & their moms

I have been so very blessed.  What are the simple summer pleasures you’ve been blessed to experience this summer?  (To my friends in the southern hemisphere, I apologize – I’m not trying to taunt.)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Faith & Children, gardening/nature, Inspirational, miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Simple Summer Pleasures

  1. Maggie says:

    Gotta be honest…I’m not a fan of summer right now. Today was 106 degrees and humid. Ick! Maybe my simple summer pleasures include staying inside, enjoying the longer hours of daylight (that I enjoy from the windows of my house), and ice cream. Because ice cream is good!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    I’m looking forward to some of these pleasures when our summer arrives, Dana. But I know that when the heat of summer does arrive and we are threatened by bushfires, I will be agreeing with Maggie too! Enjoy your pleasures!

    • danardoyle says:

      I know, Sue! I was thinking of you when I apologized to my friends in the southern hemisphere. Sorry! The thought of brush fires hadn’t even occurred to me. That must be a big problem where you are. In the southwestern United States, thousands upon thousands of acres have been charred by brush fires this year. Very sad.

  3. Sharon says:

    Sitting on my deck in the morning watching the ducks on our pond and listening to the birds. Swim meets. Relaxing by the pool. Enjoying a baseball game with my family. I also enjoy many of the same things you do, like reading a good book and going barefoot. Enjoy your summer! 🙂

  4. pattyabr says:

    I am thankful also for butterflies. I have a BEAUTIFUL butterfly who comes to my garden for one particular flower. I think it is a Tiger Butterfly (I’ll have to google it) I sat and watched it for 10 minutes today and took several pictures.

    I am also thankful for my wonderful dog, Dot. She is faithful and true. She loves to jump and run in our yard. You’d think she was a puppy the way she struts her stuff. She’ll be 10 years old in October.

    • danardoyle says:

      I’d love it if you could post a picture of the butterfly. I have a dog who is seven. You’d swear he was still a puppy too, with the amount of energy and enthusiasm he still has. What a blessing!

  5. Clare says:

    This is a sweet list! I’m grateful for lots of the same things. And for cool mountain breezes, mountain lilac, and an opportunity to wear my cute summer dresses again. 🙂

    God bless you!

Leave a Reply

