Christian Yoga?

If you have time to read this article and comment, I would appreciate it.  It is about a priest teaching classes in Christian Yoga.  I never heard of such a thing.  I was once told by a priest to stay away from yoga, because of the Eastern religious elements involved.  The main “beef” with this form of exercise, in my understanding, is that we believe that our faith is a gift from God.  If we grow in holiness, it is by the grace of God.  Eastern yoga teaches that the participant can grow in god-like-ness on his/her own by practicing this meditation and exercise.  It puts the person in control of rising to spiritual heights, not God.  I hope that I’m phrasing that correctly.  Anyway, whatever the magisterium teaches, I will abide by.  I’m just curious as to what you all think of this very interesting article.  Thanks!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Informational, miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christian Yoga?

  1. Maggie says:

    It is interesting! I never would’ve put the two together myself, but I can understand the possible spiritual benefits. If our body is a temple for the Holy Spirit, yoga could help make us more aware of that…

  2. pattyabr says:

    I started practicing yoga in my house looking at the pictures and reading the exercise routines 18 years ago. I started it as a way to calm down after harried days of caring for little children and caring for a home (indoors and outdoors) when my husband was out of the country for 6 weeks. I grew closer to God, as a Catholic, after I started doing yoga all those many years ago.

    I attend some yoga classes now and the teacher’s approach is yes it can be for worship but it is an exercise in meditation and physical strength and stretching. You take what you want from it.
    I wear my crucifix to my yoga classes and no one has kicked me out.

    I think most people, in general, seek out yoga in two ways: 1) as a form of exercise and stress relief and 2)searching for spiritual fulfillment they haven’t found anywhere else. There are people of all ages in my class. Some have been in car accidents and need it to continue their therapy after PT is over. Then there is a whole other element of searchers who are wandering around the planet looking for the answer to life.

    If they start offering a Christian yoga class in my neighborhood, I’ll check it out.

    I think organized religion is afraid they are losing followers and this may be a way of hooking people back in. Heck, there have even been several attempts in my church to have weight loss programs for Catholics. Are we also afraid of losing followers to Weight Watchers?

    I think there are groups of Christians who feel that we are worshipping other gods by going to yoga classes. I want you to know, I am not worshipping any other gods. I am a Catholic and a Christian through and through.

    • danardoyle says:

      I appreciate your opinion and experience. I used to do yoga with a tape in my home – for the same reason – STRESS relief! My body is just not made for high energy workouts, but I found that the stretching, etc. was something I could do. When I heard that the Church was teaching that it was wrong, I threw out my tape. I haven’t been able to find anything to replace it for stress relief other than writing (which is sedentary) and walking in the evenings.

  3. Ken C. says:

    I’ve seen the pics you post and if I were living in such beautiful surroundings, the walk would be enough.

Leave a Reply

