Wisdom from “Kung Fu Panda”

This title might sound out of character for my blog.  I spent a delightful morning with a friend and her son.  We went to the special $3 movie showing of the year old “Kung Fu Panda.”  The $3 included the movie, a small popcorn and a drink.  What a bargain!

The movie was actually better than I had remembered.  It did contain a lot of martial arts , and fighting (hence the title) and a dark, scary character.  It definitely is not for the very young.  It also shows a yin-yang reference to an eastern religious philosophy.  I’m not promoting it, but a few things struck me in a positive way as I watched this morning.

As one Master instructed another, while peering into a pool of water, he said, “You are like this water.  When agitated, you can’t see clearly.  When still, you can see clearly.”  Without time for stillness – time in prayer and quiet – how can we expect answers from God?  How can we see clearly if we’re running around all agitated?  That struck home with me.

Another quote from the movie – “The past is history, the future is a mystery, today is a gift.  That is why it is called the present.”  We’ve all heard that before!  We are not guaranteed the future – or even the next moment.  We must live in the present – that childlike faith I’ve been talking about – complete trust in God’s providence.  Small children don’t worry about the future – they experience the joy of the moment.  On the flip side, we spend far too much time grieving over our mistakes of the past.  Why do we beat ourselves up so?  When we ask God for forgiveness with a repentant heart, He is merciful to us.  Why can’t we be merciful to ourselves?

Lastly, one of the movie’s very positive themes was about using your gifts to determine your path in life.  If when we consider which road to take in life – be it a career or another big decision, we need to consider the talents God has given us.  How can we use our gifts to serve Him by serving others?    Instead of asking ourselves or our children, “What do you want to do (when you grow up,) we should ask, what do you think God wants you to do?

Some food for thought from an unexpected source today – the summer movie camp!  Who’d a thunk it?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Faith & Children, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wisdom from “Kung Fu Panda”

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana, thank you for the movie quotes. They are good! I never sit still long enough to enjoy the whole of a movie with my kids. Perhaps I should go with them and Andy to see Kung Fu Panda 2, a planned holiday treat.

    “what do you think God wants you to do?” I ask myself this a lot. Hopefully, I am encouraging our children to do the same. Using our talents usually results in personal satisfaction and joy. When they are used to serve others, I am sure the joy is increased.

Leave a Reply

