A Gift of Lasting Memories

You may or may not have noticed that I disappeared for a few days.  A dear friend gave my family the huge gift of a little vacation on Florida’s beautiful Gulf Coast.  We packed a lot of fun, family time, relaxation and memories into those few days.  It was wonderful and so greatly appreciated!

As a gift to my family and to myself, I left my computer at home so that I would not be tempted to check emails or to blog.  I did it!  I not only survived four days without my computer, but it was actually kind of nice!  As much as I enjoy writing on my keyboard, I enjoyed immersing myself in time with my family even more.  My oldest is twenty.  I’m hoping that we will continue to vacation with him (and his future family) for years to come, but one never knows.  It was great having all five of us together for an extended period of time.  We actually took my eighteen year old niece along as well.  She was a total joy – so easy going and gracious.

Some of the best times we shared together on this trip were partaking in simple pleasures – looking for seashells, burying each other in the sand, walks along the beach, riding the waves, feeding the fish and ducks leftover biscuits, watching the clouds roll in and preparing meals together in the evenings.  We didn’t watch the news once!  Every night, we’d end the day with chocolate chip ice cream covered in Magic Shell.  Yum!

I have been so blessed to be given such a loving family.  Spending time with them, away from the pressures and demands of work and the troubles of this world was such a gift -  priceless.  I thank God for blessing me with family, friends and for the gift of time to spend making memories with them.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, miscellaneous, photography, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Gift of Lasting Memories

  1. Clare says:

    It looks like you had such a wonderful time, Dana. What a beautiful thing for your friend to do. God bless!

  2. Stacy says:

    Stacy says, So glad to see such beautiful pictures! Sounds like you had a wonderful time. We all need that. time with all of the family seems to dwindle as the years go by so teasured moments are important. Thanks for sharing. You’re a lucky duck!

  3. Sue Elvis says:

    I did notice you weren’t around Dana, and hoped you were off somewhere enjoying a summer break. Looks like you had a wonderful time. Sitting here in front of the heater, I am enjoying your photos of the beach. Looks so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

