One of Those Days

Do you ever get the blahs?  A blah day is not a bad day really, but it’s not a good day either.   It just is.  Today was one of those days for me.  I woke up in a fair mood.  I had no specific plans for today – no long “to do” lists, no errands.  My objective was simple – I thought I’d clean out my closet (something that should take about thirty minutes), do a little laundry and perhaps read library books to my little one. Ahhh!  A nice, slow- paced summer day!

We got the rain that we’ve been praying for  – lots of it!   With the rain, came dark clouds to shroud the sun.  Maybe it was the lack of sunlight that made me feel so blah.   Attitude really is everything.  When my attitude is gray, the whole world seems colorless.  While picking up my youngest from a play date, I didn’t like the silence in the car.  I turned on the radio and flipped through every station – Even the classical station which I usually find soothing just sounded like noise.   So I turned it off again.   “What is wrong with me?” I thought.

When I arrived home, I tackled the closet, thinking that I’d reap a big fat sense of accomplishment which would lift my spirits.   Well, the monstrous closet “exploded”  spilling its contents across two rooms – the master bath and bedroom.  It took hours, two bags of trash and two donation bags to whip it back into shape!  When I was finally finished, I was worn out – mentally and physically.  That dirty old closet had gotten the best of me.  It did not provide that wonderful feeling I hoped it would.

Since the rain continued throughout the day, the kids had to play inside – tents made out of dining room chairs and every blanket and stuffed animal we have in the house.  You got it – as I cleaned up one room, they laid waste to another!!!  Deep sigh!  Half smile.

Around 5:30, my husband arrived, hungry from a hard day’s work, inquiring about the  menu .  Dinner?   I hadn’t given much thought to dinner.  I wasn’t really hungry.  I tossed some pre-made crab cakes and chicken nuggets in the oven and heated a “Steamfresh” bag of string beans.   Dinner.

My oldest son then asked if his friend could stay for supper, so I set some spaghetti noodles in a pot to boil and put a “Bag-o-salad” into a bowl.   The young man thanked me for allowing him to stay and politely asked me, “Mrs. Dana, How was your day?”  “Well,” I said, “There’s always tomorrow!”  I hope this mental funk goes away with sleep!  Goodnight all!

An excerpt from a poem entitled,  “In God’s Care” by Seema Chowdhury

God please take me in your care
I wish only with you to share
My tensions and my pains and distress
That are creating a lot of stress…

With the ray of hope that’s true
That can take me out of feeling blue
As I know only you can give me cheer
And banish all my doubts ‘n fears.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One of Those Days

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Sorry to hear you had one of ‘those’ days, Dana. A prayer for a lifting of spirits tomorrow… God bless!

Leave a Reply

