Solemnity of the Holy Trinity

Today, we celebrate Father’s Day.  In the Church, we also celebrate the Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity.  The Trinity is one of those mysteries that we believe, but that we surely won’t truly comprehend until we get to heaven.  It is a term not mentioned as such in the bible; however, there are many references to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit in God’s Word.

One of the moments where all three are mentioned was at Jesus’ baptism in the Jordan River. “When all the people were being baptized, Jesus was baptized too. And as he was praying, heaven was opened and the Holy Spirit descended on him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven: “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”  (Luke 3: 20-22)

The Holy Spirit is a part of the mystery that is particularly perplexing to me.  I know that He exists, because Jesus said so on multiple occasions.  I have a prayer to the Holy Spirit that I  read from a card.  I sometimes have trouble talking to Him from the heart, because I cannot visualize Him, as I can Jesus – fully human & fully divine or God as Father.

Take it all a step further.  As Catholics, we believe that the Trinity is one God in three divine persons – united yet separate – Mind boggling!

Regarding the mysteries of our faith that we believe without full understanding, I found this great quote from St. Augustine: “Understanding is the reward given by faith.  Do not try to understand in order to believe, but believe in order to understand.”  One of the rewards of our faith here on earth will be the gift of understanding in heaven.  Until then, we walk by faith and not necessarily by sight. We believe without physical proof.   If our faith is weak, we can pray that God will increase our faith!

While typing this I’m indulging in a guilty pleasure – watching the Daytime Emmy Awards.  A winner on the award show tonight – a young man in his late twenties – got up and first gave thanks to the “Father, Son and Holy Spirit.”  He also thanked everyone who had ever prayed for him.  How refreshing to see this – especially from a television personality!

May the Father, Son and Holy Spirit increase our faith and bless us all!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, scripture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

