My 3 Favorite Bible Verses

Ellen Gable Hrkach at Plot, Line and Sinker asked me to write and reflect on my 3 favorite bible verses, then to tag three more bloggers, who will in turn post their 3 favorites, and so on…please join the fun!

#1  “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.”  Proverbs 3:5     I’m an all or nothing kind of girl.  I like the “all your heart” part.  Do I trust with all my heart 100% of the time – NO, but it something to aspire to.  I fall off the horse and get back on time and time again.  The “lean not on your own understanding” part also strikes a chord with me, because we often don’t see God’s hand in a situation until we can see more clearly in retrospect.  Retrospect always reveals to me God’s faithful love and guidance.  He is the only one I can trust 100%, all of the time!

#2 “Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you.  Before you were born, I consecrated you.”  Jeremiah 1:5  I know that God was speaking to the prophet Jeremiah here, but I like to apply it to myself, and to all of God’s children.   (I believe that it applies.)  Out of total love, God formed each of us in our mother’s wombs.  He didn’t have to, but He did.  This tells me that no child – NO CHILD – is unwanted by God.  Everyone that is placed in the womb was put there for a reason – a reason only known to God.  He has a plan for each and every life.  It is in this act of the Creator that all human beings – no matter how microscopic or old has its inherent dignity.  Life is a gift!

#3  Be joyful always.  Pray continually.  Give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s Will for you in Christ Jesus.        1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18  I came to like this verse when a student of mine gave me a key chain with the verse imprinted on it. Ironically (or not so), I was going through a rough patch at the time when I was not feeling very grateful for the crosses that I had to bear.  In fact, I was downright angry – having a little “pity party.”   This verse challenges me to be joyful on the most difficult of days – someone always has it worse.  It calls me to pray always by offering my prayers, works, joys and sufferings of the day for the intentions of Jesus’ Most Sacred Heart.*  It really challenges me to give thanks in ALL circumstances, trusting that God’s plan is better than my own.  He allows difficulties and trials to fashion us for eternity.

Maggie, Arafea and Ken, I enjoy your websites so much!  If you read this post, please write about your 3 favorite verses and pass this on to 3 of your favorite bloggers.  Please mention me in your first line, as I did Ellen.  Thanks!

Maggie @ I want the sweet life

Arafea @ Catholic Teen Perspective

Ken @ Well Oiled Lamp

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 3 Favorite Bible Verses

  1. Clare says:

    Those are beautiful passages and reflections. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    “The “lean not on your own understanding” part also strikes a chord with me, because we often don’t see God’s hand in a situation until we can see more clearly in retrospect.

    That is SO true! And when we do look back and see Him, we’re further motivated to put faith in the first part of that verse!

Leave a Reply

