Am I Doing All That I Can Do?

I was studying the first reading of the day according to the lectionary.  The reading is from Acts 20: 17-27  The last few words of Paul struck me hard.  I got to thinking, “Am I truly doing all that I can do?”

“But now I know that none of you
to whom I preached the kingdom during my travels
will ever see my face again.
And so I solemnly declare to you this day
that I am not responsible for the blood of any of you,
for I did not shrink from proclaiming to you the entire plan of God.”

As a follower of Christ, I should not only be concerned about the salvation of my inner circle, I should be concerned about the salvation of my brothers and sisters all over the world.  This overwhelming thought reminded me of a video I saw regarding a woman’s personal testimony of her near death experience.  The original recording of Sondra Abraham’s testimony was recorded at Focus Television, a ministry associated with New Orleans’ own Archbishop Philip Hannan.  I have a lot of respect for him, therefore, I thought it o.k. to watch this testimony.  There is nothing that Sondra says that goes against the teachings of the Catholic Church.  I found Sondra’s testimony on YouTube.  During her talk, someone asked her about her vision of hell.  She said that it is so terrible, that even if someone killed her only child, she would still not want the murderer to go to hell.    Wow!

I’m attaching parts 1 &2 of her testimony where she describes what happened to her and the visions Jesus showed her of heaven and hell.  If you care to watch the rest of her testimony, parts 3-10 are also on YouTube. It’s powerful stuff!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I Doing All That I Can Do?

  1. I have listened to a similar testimony. It’s a great reality check isn’t it? Going to the ends of the earth…or at least to the end of the block with His Good News…Journey Girl

Leave a Reply

