Christian Music for Teen Girls

There is so much junk on the radio.  I know I’ve turned into my grandmother!  “Those kids.  I don’t understand their music.  It all sounds like noise to me!”  Well, the truth is, I do understand it…unfortunately!

In our day, the lyrics to Top 40 tunes were often suggestive.  We were too young and naive to understand (thankfully), so we just belted out the words and moved to the rhythm.  No sweat.

Now many of the lyrics are explicit and leave absolutely nothing to the imagination.  They degrade human beings, and human sexuality horribly.  My daughter and I often battle over the buttons on the car radio, because the minute I hear anything remotely inappropriate, I change the station.  There are some stations we don’t even listen to…period.  No negotiating.

In teaching religion classes to teenagers, I discovered a young, Christian artist this past year.  I used her music videos in my class.  They really appeal to young ladies, because the singer is cute, talented and cool.  Her music is really upbeat, and her songs infectious.  Check out these two videos from Britt Nicole as posted on YouTube.  See what you think.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christian Music for Teen Girls

  1. Dana says:

    I agree Dana…and mine is only 6! We listen to Lifesongs in our car…no exceptions…well except for Taylor Swift : ) I am hoping to get her trained to Christian music now to avoid the battles later. So far, so good!

Leave a Reply

