…And the Answer Is…


I cleaned and organized kitchen drawers and cabinets!   I apologize if it’s not as exciting as you had hoped.  It was truly exciting to me.  As a working mom, what is behind doors and cabinets is often the first thing to go/give when things get hectic. I tend to focus my time and energies (what little of both I have) to cleaning what is visible –  to keep some sense of order AND just in case someone drops by!  I’ve been itching to get some semblance of order back in my life, and for me, it all begins with closets, drawers and cabinets!

As a teacher, I feel blessed to live the best of both worlds.  I get the paycheck and adult connection of a working woman.  Then, I get holidays and summers to be a “stay at home” mom.  I love that time, because my house stays so much more tidy.  I get to play with my children, and give them some one- on- one time.  I can enjoy my coffee and bible in the morning. I can bake homemade cookies and chocolate chip pancakes for the kids for breakfast.  It  is the best of both worlds!

Besides getting my house in order this summer, I hope to get my “spiritual” house in order as well.  I want to live more simply and spend more time delighting  in God’s beautiful creations.  I want to be more faithful to prayer and bible reading time.  I want to attend weekday mass & adoration more often and bring my children along.  Maybe I can slip in the Angelus at noon and develop a new “prayer habit” with them.  I realize how quickly the kids’ formative years are slipping away from me.  My time for influence is surely limited.  I want to make good use of the time I have left!

May God Bless you and yours this summer with a keen awareness of His loving presence  – everywhere you go!  Enjoy!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …And the Answer Is…

  1. Mary Danna Seese says:

    Girl, that looks awesome! I’m proud of you!!! You worked hard and it is incredible. Give yourself a pat on the back b/c I know that took a lot of time and patience. A job well done…..now can you give me a pep talk and take my kids away for a while so I can do the same thing….haha!

  2. I, too, am a teacher. I totally understand all that you said about being busy. I also like for the “hidden” places to be in order. Somehow when those places are in order, I feel better about the unhidden places. Enjoy your summer!

  3. It is a good thing to recognize the correlation between our spiritual house and our physical house. Happy spring cleaning to you…

Leave a Reply

