Remembering our Fallen Heroes

Today is the special day set aside in our country for remembering those who have died while in military service.  I am so grateful to these brave men and women who gave their lives to protect the freedoms that we often take for granted in the U.S.  I am also grateful to the families who have lost loved ones in service.  I am the mother of a twenty year old.  It breaks my heart to see moms and dads who’ve lost their military sons and daughters to war.  I know that in a different time or situation, I could be that mom, mourning the loss of a son.  I am so appreciative of their enormous sacrifices, and I pray for their consolation.

I’d like to elaborate on a few of the freedoms I have as a United States citizen that I especially treasure – privileges afforded me by our awesome military.  The freedom to practice my religion openly is at the top of my list.  I’ve seen movies depicting life in other countries, especially during WWII, when religion had to be practiced underground, for fear of execution.  Very scary!  Secondly, I’ve been given the opportunity to use the gifts that God has given me to teach.  I was able to follow my heart in choosing a job/vocation.  The government did not assign me an occupation, as has been the case in some places.  Lastly, I truly cherish the freedom of speech.  Writing is almost as important to me as breathing.  It is how I express myself fluidly.  I know that there are some countries where blogging or sharing personal opinions would be out of the question!

Thank you, fallen heroes, if you can hear me.  I am most grateful for the gift of your life, and for the tremendous sacrifices you made for love of our country.    I pray that you may spend eternity with God in heaven, where you will suffer no more.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholicism, miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering our Fallen Heroes

  1. Maggie says:

    My husband’s cousin died two years ago from injuries he sustained while serving in Afghanistan. He was our age.

    His mother is doing wonderful things on his behalf now.

Leave a Reply

