Reflection on Today’s Gospel John 15: 18-21

Jesus said to his disciples:
“If the world hates you, realize that it hated me first.
If you belonged to the world, the world would love its own;
but because you do not belong to the world,
and I have chosen you out of the world,
the world hates you.
Remember the word I spoke to you,
‘No slave is greater than his master.’
If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you.
If they kept my word, they will also keep yours.
And they will do all these things to you on account of my name,
because they do not know the one who sent me.” John 15:18-21

I took a great religion course this week on catechesis (religious instruction).  It rekindled a spark in me that had become, perhaps, an ember. So many adults don’t get the full benefits of the Catholic faith, because they truly (by no fault of their own) have not gotten proper, complete religious instruction as children and young adults.  I know that I did not.  I grew up in the 1970’s where catechesis in the Catholic faith was a lot of flowers and fluff.

Most of what I’ve learned, I’ve had to seek out on my own as an adult through counsel with faithful priests and reading good, Catholic literature written by people who really know the faith – like convert, Scott Hahn and Mother Angelica.  I’ve taken courses offered by my Archdiocese, and read the writings of some of the great saints.   I feel that I am now able to get much more out of mass and the sacraments, because I better understand them.

Something my instuctor said yesterday, made me chuckle, but it’s true!  If you’re going to be a catechist, “You’d better look good on wood.”  We’re all called to be catechists by virtue of our baptism.  The world is so hungry for Christ and for the good news of the gospel.  It is up to us to bring these to them.  We must be strong, and of good courage however, because today’s reading reiterates the “good on wood” thought.  Jesus was ridiculed, ignored, humiliated, and persecuted for the message He brought to the world.  If it happened to Our Lord, it will surely happen to us, His followers.  It’s o.k. though.

Another quote the instructor left us with was this, “God doesn’t ask that we be successful, just faithful.”  Hang in there!  At the end of the journey is a reward prepared for you and for me.  It is written: “What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived” — the things God has prepared for those who love Him—

1 Corinthians 2:9

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflection on Today’s Gospel John 15: 18-21

  1. Pingback: Resources for John 15:18 - 21

  2. I am very glad to be on you blog this morning. I find it very edifying. You would love visiting my page too, and here is today’s reflection.
    http://ugandayouthministryassociation.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/does-the-world-love-us-or-do-we-find-resistance-and-maybe-even-rejection-from-those-around-us/

Leave a Reply

