Some Truly Great Graduates

I read an article today about a very generous high school graduating class that gave me great hope for the future.  This group of seniors donated all of the money set aside for their big graduation bash to the victims of the tornadoes in Joplin, Missouri.  In fact, the article I read said that a large group of the kids approached their principal shortly after the devastating storm hit, without being prompted by adults.  The kids decided to forego their party to help those who were rendered homeless by the powerful, destructive winds.  That same afternoon, the kids assembled hundreds of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches to bring to the relief workers.   Instead of having an extravaganza after graduation, the graduates will get together for a modest pizza reception being hosted by the parents.  The wonderful thing is that these kids wouldn’t have it any other way!

It seems these days that there is human suffering everywhere we turn.  May the selflessness of these great graduates inspire us to action in our own neck of the woods!

(photo by Mike Gullet, AP)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

