An Attitude of Gratitude

Oprah had her farewell show yesterday.  I confess.  I watched it.  There are some things she has preached about over the years that I’ve disagreed with, however, I did really appreciate two ways that she has touched my life.  First, I appreciate the spotlight she shed on child sexual abuse.  She educated the public on the mind and motives behind child predators, in an attempt to save the precious minds and bodies of our young ones.

Secondly, she had that whole season a few years back that she focused on the “gratitude journal” concept.  She taught all who tuned in about the gift of gratitude – truly counting and naming your blessings.  It’s a great way to approach our lives, as sons and daughters of a loving God.  No matter what is going wrong in life (it’s always something), we must remember that we have been most blessed.  Gratitude gives praise to our Creator and joy to our hearts!  I will share part of my list that I carry around in my purse, in case I start to fall into negativity or self pity:

Lord, I am most thankful for:

My husband, children and parents

                  The beauty of creation and how it brings me closer to You

                  Our communion when I receive the Most Blessed Sacrament

                  Our time together in Adoration

                  Health of myself, my husband, my children

                  A job where You are present and readily accessible

                  A home, food and all our needs provided

Priests that bring You to us

Water, ice

                  A comfortable place to lay – blankets to keep warm

Many wonderful family vacation experiences

Mexican food

Unexpected reminders of Your presence

The friendship of Your angels and saints

Friendships

The gifts of speaking and writing

My senses

My garden

The pleasure of watching birds

The awesome gift of faith

Every breath I take with ease

Pain that unites me to You

The ability to smile

My senses

The gift of being able to work with children all these years

Seashells and seagulls

Mountain vistas and waterfalls

Sunsets in a spectrum of colors

Cardinals on my birdfeeder

The gift of Your mother to me

Your Sacred Heart, Your Mercy

Silence

Music

Freedom…

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

