Why Does God Allow Good People to Suffer?

This morning, we held a “Walk- a- thon” to raise money for a scholarship in memory of a young lady who attended our school.  After a long, courageous battle with cancer, she passed away a year ago, on palm Sunday.  It was so inspiring to see all of our children uniting for a good cause –  happily, I might add.  Many of our graduates even came back to join us in walking to raise money.  We began with a dedication of a fountain in the child’s memory and ended our morning events with a prayer service.  It brought such a big smile to my face to hear our sixth graders (normally self-conscious adolescents) crooning and doing the hand motions to the song “Trading My Sorrows,” coming from a big boom box.

I briefly addressed the question of suffering.  Why does God allow good people suffer?  Why would He allow a precious one, like our classmate, to die so young?  I told them what I know to be true.  That is – God loves each of His children as though he/she were His only child.  He has a plan for each of them.  Sometimes He allows suffering to bring about a greater good…but He surely walks with us in our pain.  Why some people live to be ninety, and some die young, we won’t understand until we get to heaven.  Trusting in God’s boundless love for us, we must believe that He knows what is best for us.  He wants more than anything for each of us to spend eternity in heaven with Him.  Some get to go sooner than others.  I know that God surely views death in a different way that we do.  Death is being born into new and everlasting life.

God never promised us an easy time on this earth.  In fact, especially if you follow Him, you can be guaranteed that it won’t be easy.  Think about Jesus and Mary.  How much does God love them, and still they had to suffer terribly in this life?  It’s a huge consolation that when we go through dark times, that we have Mary and Jesus to talk to and to lean on.  Of all people, they can understand suffering more than anyone!

I tell people, if everything is going great in your life – bad news – it won’t last.  If everything is going horribly in your life – great news – it won’t last.  That’s the nature of this life – ever changing.  We must keep our eye on the prize through the good and bad times. That prize is heaven where we will experience perfect communion with God – unhindered by our earthly limitations and shortcomings.  There will be no more tears, no more death, no more suffering.  Amen!

Click here for a “Trading My Sorrows” video.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Does God Allow Good People to Suffer?

  1. lot3k says:

    Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

    “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

    And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.

    Jesus Wept. – This simple verse conveys so much of Christs compassion for us left to sustain in this fallen world.

Leave a Reply

