Joshua

I was flipping the channels a few nights ago, and came across the movie “Joshua,” on the Family Channel.  It is a great, inspiring film based on the book Joshua by Joseph F. Girzone.  I read the book years ago, but gladly rediscovered the modern-day parable on television.

It is the story of a man named Joshua, a carpenter, who moves to the town of Auburn where there is “much work to be done.”  People there are tremendously divided.  Joshua is surrounded by much controversy in their eyes, because nothing is known about him; however, people are inexplicably drawn to him.

Joshua gets the citizens working on a project together – the building of a church.  Through the course of the experience, they come to respect and even love one another!  The story keeps you guessing from beginning until end as to whether or not Joshua is really Jesus among us in our times.  It is intriguing, and leaves the viewer feeling empowered to go out and spread the good news!   I guess that’s why it was first a best-selling book!

The over all theme of the movie is God’s enduring love, and how we are to show the Father’s love to others.  To quote the Beetles, “All you need is love…love is all you need.” To see a preview of the movie, click on this word Joshua.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

