Come Holy Spirit!

Sometimes, God makes His Will known to us in an obvious manner.  Most of the time, however, we must resort to prayerful discernment.  Notice how I used the word, “resort.”  Isn’t that the way we often work?  We try to handle things, then when they don’t seem to work out, or we’re not getting a result soon enough, we turn to prayer.  Shouldn’t it be the other way around?   For each and every decision we have to make in life, we should turn FIRST to God for guidance.  Jesus modeled this for us on many occasions including the time just before He began His ministry, and just before He was put to death.  He sought solitude, He fasted, and He prayed that God’s Will be done in Him.

Yesterday, I talked with a friend who has a big decision to make.  Together, we were talking through the pros and cons.  After hashing it out for several minutes, it occurred to me (Hello!) – Ask the Holy Spirit for guidance!  I know that my friend had already begun that process of prayerful discernment.  I have situations in my life that need discernment as well.  We both just needed a reminder to refocus – get back on track.  Don’t fret, just pray, read God’s Word, spend some time in silence, listen

After my wonderful visit with my buddy, I had a doctors’ appointment.  In the small talk that often opens an office visit, my doctor and I somehow got on the topic of faith.  He told me that after having a really difficult year (due to a family tragedy,) he converted from the Catholic faith to the Baptist faith.   There was a very pregnant pause that was almost uncomfortable.  He was waiting for a response from the middle school Catholic religion teacher (Me )!  I thought, “I’d better measure my words and make this good.”  Then something inside of me interjected, ” Ask the Holy Spirit for help –  quick!”  I did.  I told my doctor that we agree on Jesus’ saving sacrifice, and that, after all,  is that most important belief we could possibly share.  After that, I simply shared that I could not ever see myself converting for one reason – the Eucharist – Jesus in the flesh.   It is the source from which I draw tremendous grace.  I can’t imagine life without it (Him)!

Prayer to the Holy Spirit:

O Holy Spirit, Beloved of my soul, I adore You.  Enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me.  Tell me what I should do.  Give me your orders.  I promise to submit myself to all that You desire of me and to accept all that You permit to happen to me.  Let me only know Your Will.  Amen.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Come Holy Spirit!

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Hi Dana, I have been pondering this for the last day or so.

    “I could not ever see myself converting for one reason – the Eucharist – Jesus in the flesh. ” That is just how I feel! I just cannot understand why some of my friends have swapped the Eucharist for a different church with a better social life, a friendlier atmosphere or whatever reason they give. All I can conclude is that they really do not understand the Gift we have been given. For how could anyone prefer anything to Jesus Himself?

Leave a Reply

