A Ruckus of Tweets

I heard a ruckus of tweets outside of my classroom yesterday morning, “Who eet… Who eet…Who eet…” I opened the door to see a male and female cardinal taking a spirited bath in the sprinkler that had been set to water some freshly planted cypress trees.  The news is filled with stories of flooding all along the Mighty Mississippi, and yet our lawns and gardens down south are ironically dry enough for kindling!  These two little cardinals happened to be passing through the neighborhood and hit the jackpot – cool, fresh, running water!  They seemed to be completely delighting in this spigot of refreshment and delighting in one another’s company.

The thing that I love most about cardinals (besides their striking beauty) is that the males and females travel in pairs.  If you see a male, you know that his mate is close by and vice versa.  It’s like God has given us an image of faithfulness, loyalty and companionship (a good marriage) in nature – in colorful birds that are difficult to miss!  My friends know that I have another special reason for loving cardinals.  I will share that in my post tomorrow.  Stay tuned!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, Marriage, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

