I’m Dreaming of…a Vegetable Garden

My husband has asked me twice this week what I’d like for Mother’s Day.  When I told him that I had no idea, he asked me if I’d like him to dig a plot of ground in our backyard to plant vegetables.  I immediately dismissed the idea.  I LOVE flower gardening and being up to my elbows in dirt, BUT I’ve never had much luck with edibles.

Trying to give my husband some ideas, I really began thinking.  The trouble is that nothing I want can be bought.  I want to be in perfect communion with God at all times – not happening while I’m here on earth!  I want the whole world to know and to love Jesus.  I want all those suffering from fires, floodwaters, earthquakes, unemployment, poverty and war to stop hurting.  I want order, peace and quiet.  I want a flat stomach again.  I want those annoying light-colored hairs that have been pushing through my facial pores these past couple of years to go away! I want my smooth skin back! (See, not all of my wants are “noble” – some are very self-centered and vain)

Anyway, I began daydreaming about a vegetable garden this afternoon.  What if I could be successful this time?  Wouldn’t it be great to walk out in the backyard and pick our salad and vegetables for dinner?  With prices skyrocketing at the gas pump and grocery store, it might actually be in our family’s best interest to try to grow some of our own food!  Still thinking…

Then God said, “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.    Genesis 1: 29

 The LORD will guide you always;
   he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
   and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
   like a spring whose waters never fail.  Isaiah 58: 11

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Dreaming of…a Vegetable Garden

  1. Mary Danna Seese says:

    Do it! Do a veggie garden!I am trying to grow tomatoes and cucumbers, but don’t have the best area or soil. I would love a plot! Can Eric come over to my house? hehehe!

  2. littlesoul2 says:

    What a sweet thing for your husband to offer to do for you! And wouldn’t it be fun to try? Who knows, Our Lord may bless you with a great abundance of yummy fresh veggies, and you could even donate some to the poor or the Carmelite nuns or the Benedictines, etc. Go for it!

    I hate those pesky facial hairs, and I want a flat stomach too! : )

    Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

