An Inspiring Catholic Historical Romance Novel

Ellen Gable’s book In Name Only is truly the best work of Catholic fiction that I have ever read.  Mrs. Gable draws her readers into the story right away.  It’s not one of those books that take several chapters to get rolling.  The author masterfully develops her characters, so that the reader has a clear understanding of their appearance, personality and traits.  Throughout the course of the book, one develops a sense of knowing these characters and caring about what will happen to them.  Mrs. Gable keeps you turning the pages!

What I like best about this beautifully written work of historical fiction is the undertones and overtones of faith that run throughout the entire novel, like yarn woven into a blanket. Last year, I attempted to start a book club with my fellow Catholic School teachers.  I wanted to read something deep and inspiring, and my cohorts wanted to read romantic fiction.  Since they outnumbered me, I gave in; however, finding a romance novel for Catholic women was difficult.  I wish we had known about Mrs. Gable’s book back then, as it would have fit the bill perfectly.  It is both deeply inspiring and very romantic!   I sincerely hope that Mrs. Gable will write another book in this genre!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Book Review, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Inspiring Catholic Historical Romance Novel

  1. Thank you so much, Dana!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Hi danardoyle! I just had to stop and comment when I saw a post about Ellen’s book. I read it a few weeks ago and loved it too! I kept thinking I knew exactly what would happen next but I was wrong every time: so many twists and turns. And so Catholic. I’m reading Ellen’s first book, “Emily’s Hope” at the moment and enjoying it too. I wonder if you have read this one.

    I’d love to belong to a book club like you. It’s so interesting discussing books. God bless!

Leave a Reply

