A Beautiful Sight


I turned on the television Easter Sunday evening, and the mass from the Vatican was airing on EWTN.   I watched in amazement as one person after another processed up the long aisle to the Pope Benedict XVI, knelt in front of the pontiff’s chair, and received Holy Communion on the tongue.  I felt as though I had traveled way back in time – back to a time when people deeply believed in the Real Presence of Christ in the Eucharist – back to a time when no one would ever dream of dressing immodestly or casually for church – back to a time when silence in church was well known protocol.   It was so beautiful to see the great amount of reverence and respect shown by the communicants at this Easter mass .  I understand from doing some research on the internet that the pope has brought back communion “kneeling and on the tongue” at all of his masses.  I do so hope that our Catholic churches in the United States here take his lead.  I think that what he is teaching us in this declaration is very profound and powerful.  This is truly Our Lord who we are receiving.  If Jesus were to walk into our room, and we could see Him, would we not  drop to our knees in humble adoration?  Just think about it-

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Blessed Sacrament, Catholic, Catholicism, eucharist, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Beautiful Sight

  1. littlesoul2 says:

    I couldn’t agree more with your comments! When I was a child, everything was so sacred about the Mass, that I don’t think any of us doubted that Jesus was really and truly present. But then, everything changed, and He was no longer treated with the same reverence and respect. Hopefully, things are beginning to change for the better now, and our dear Pope Benedict gives us such a beautiful example. I am looking forward to the new English translation of the Mass which will be implemented this fall.

Leave a Reply

