Terrific Tammany Trace

On this dreary Tuesday, my mind is wandering back to a much lovelier day this past weekend…

Ever since my family moved to the north shore of Lake Pontchartrain nine years ago, we’ve wanted to ride “the Trace.”  The Tammany Trace used to be a railroad track long ago.   After the train stopped running through St. Tammany Parish, the old track lay unused for years.  Developers came in and tore up the train tracks and paved a beautiful 31 mile bicycle path that runs through several towns in the parish.

My husband and I were always waiting to be able to purchase another bike, so that each family member would have one in good working order.  Then, we had a little one.  We waited for him to be able to ride without training wheels.  This past weekend was absolutely beautiful.  The temperature was a sunny 85 degrees with a pleasant breeze.  We still did not have enough bikes, so we decided to rent one.  It was very reasonable, at only $15 for half a day.

We started out at the Mandeville Trailhead and peddled four miles to the Koop Drive park.  There we picnicked and played for awhile.

Then we moved onto the second leg of our journey.  Along the way, I stopped to take a few photos of some things that caught my eye.  Here’s a couple of good shots:

We traveled onto the next stop, the Abita Springs Trailhead.  There was a playground including a water feature.  We all took the opportunity to cool off in the spray.

Finally, we hopped on our bicycles and traveled the eight mile bike path back to our car.  It may have been my fatigued, forty-four year old body, but the ride home surely seemed mostly uphill and against the wind!  I just moved a bit more slowly to compensate!I was so proud of myself and my youngest that we made the 16 mile trip without having to be picked up by car.  At the end of the lengthy ride, we went out for burgers because we were starving!!  The day was wonderful.  Strangely, it felt like a mini vacation.  When we were on that trail, we were surrounded by trees and a myriad of wild flowers and plants.  We heard lots of different bird calls.  Every once in a while, the wind would blow in a whiff of jasmine.  It was a trip that was good for the body, mind and soul!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Inspirational, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Terrific Tammany Trace

  1. Beth T. says:

    This was just lovely. I can believe it was like a mini vacation. Happy Spring Break, to you!

  2. dichotomyof says:

    Wow – this looks fantastic and such lovely photographs. I’ve just gone back and looked again at the butterfly on the thistle, heartswellingly gorgeous. What a brilliant idea to turn the tracks into a bike trail. Also no wonder you were pround – 16 miles! fantastic – all the best.

Leave a Reply

