…For the Sun Stopped Shining…

“… for the sun stopped shining. And the curtain of the temple was torn in two.  Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.”  When he had said this, he breathed his last.  The centurion, seeing what had happened, praised God and said, “Surely this was a righteous man.”  Luke 23: 45-47( The reenactment of these verses in Luke as portrayed by our 7th graders in the Passion Play)

Join me in solemn memorial of this, one of the holiest days of the year – the day we remember the death of Jesus, Our Savior.  Let’s try to do something today to mark this day as special for ourselves and for our children.

In my husband’s household as a child, today was a media free day – no TV and no radio.  For today’s generation, it might be a no texting day that would give today a solemn, reflective tone for them!  Saying the Divine Mercy chaplet would be a good memorial to Jesus, as well as attending 3 p.m. services at your local church.  Whatever way you choose to commemorate this very important day, may this day be a day filled with graces and blessings for you and for your family.

A side note – a neighbor of mine pointed out to me that there is a type of pine tree here in the South whose male parts grow to form a cross shape each year.  This cross shape comes to fulfillment just before Good Friday & Easter.  I took this picture earlier this week.  Isn’t this cool?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Lent, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

