God Speaks

Did I get your attention?  It is my firm belief that God communicates with His people just like He did with the Israelites in the Old Testament.  Sometimes it’s a voice inside; sometimes it’s something that another person says to you; sometimes He speaks to the heart through Holy Scriptures; sometimes it’s through nature.

One such “communication” happened to me this morning.  Some would call it a coincidence.  I believe that there are no coincidences.  If you read my post yesterday, you may have noted that I was a bit stressed.  The picture and the Psalm I chose reflected this reality.  This week has been extremely busy.  I was feeling depleted.  Then, the icing on the cake was a plumbing problem that came up rather suddenly.  The thought of the plumber having to dig under our house to find a (possible) broken pipe freaked me out!  It spelled big bucks!  Eek!  I decided to take a walk around the block to talk to God and to relieve stress.  As I tried to take slow, deep breaths of the fresh air, I poured my heart out to God.

This morning, at school, I felt a longing to go to church.  As I looked at my lengthy “to do” list, I put off the idea of attending 9 a.m. mass.  At about 3 minutes to nine, a friend came into my office and asked for prayers.  I took this as a sign that the Lord wanted me to get my butt to church to go pray for this woman.  As the church bells began to peel, beckoning the parishioners, I made a run for it!  I arrived just in time.  The very first words that Father said in the opening prayer were about God answering us in our distress.  “Interesting ,”  I thought.  As we got to the Liturgy of the Word, the lector read the responsorial psalm.  It had the exact same theme and message that I wrote about in my post yesterday!

Yesterday’s post read, “” Hear my prayer, LORD;
let my cry for help come to you.
Do not hide your face from me
when I am in distress.
Turn your ear to me;
when I call, answer me quickly.”  Psalm 102: 1-3

Today’s Psalm went like this: “…In my distress I called upon the LORD
and cried out to my God;
From his temple he heard my voice,
and my cry to him reached his ears.
R. In my distress I called upon the Lord, and he heard my voice.”  (from Psalm 18)

Just then, a lady behind me pat my shoulder and said, “I enjoy your blog.”  She must have made the connection, too!  The Psalm from mass seemed to be in direct response to my plea yesterday.  If my friend had not come into my office and asked for prayers, I would not have attended mass.  If I had not attended mass, I would not have heard God speaking to me through His Word.  God wanted me to know that He is with me in my struggles, and that He heard my prayers!  God is so awesome!

Even though we can’t see God, it doesn’t mean that He is not present.  He is an ever-loving, ever-present, all-powerful Father.  He knows everything about us and cares about every detail of our lives.  He walks with us in our difficulties and celebrates with us in our joys. He often communicates with us when we are close to Him in prayer and remain open.  May God speak to your heart this day!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

