Sneaky Little Squirrel

The pastor at our school gave us an unexpected surprise recently – a day off from work and school.  Today was that glorious day!  As all working parents know, it is often so difficult to fit in all that needs to be done within 6 working days.  As much as I believe that the Sabbath should be work free, I’m often scrambling to tie together loose ends on Sunday, so as not to begin the new work week hopelessly behind!  A three-day weekend is such a gift!  It allows two days to accomplish the necessary tasks, leaving a full day to refresh!  Ahhhh!

I took the kids to the park today for a picnic lunch.  Since the other local schools were in session, we had all of the grounds completely to ourselves.  It was awesome!  We walked; we talked; we played in the sandbox; we climbed; and we slid until we were worn out! There is a cool front headed our way this evening, and it has been preceded by the most glorious breezes. The sound of the wind rustling through the leaves was soothing like water cascading over rocks in a stream.

Something amusing did take place during our little romp.  We sat to eat our lunch first, but you know how that goes with kids!  Itching to play, they ate about half of their meals  then left the remainder of their chicken nuggets on the bench and headed for the playground.  Unbeknownst to us, a sneaky, little squirrel had been eyeing our feast from a branch overhead.  As soon as we walked away, he made his move.Here he is closing in on the unattended nugget…and he’s got it!!!    Now a move to safety…he scampers back up the tree…and enjoys his fine catch!  I thought that squirrels ate nuts – not chicken!!  Who knew?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Inspirational, photo entry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

