Oh, What a Blessed Day!

The sun is shining; the birds are chirping; there is a glorious breeze… and I received Jesus into my body this morning.  You can’t get any closer to heaven than that- at least while in exile here on earth.  What a tremendous, beautiful, total gift of Self that Jesus made for you and for me on that cross – and what a tremendous, beautiful, total gift of Self  Jesus makes every day in becoming the Eucharist – Food for the Journey, “Bread of Angels.”  It is the way that He has remained, truly, physically present with us for nearly 2,000 years.  I am so glad to be Catholic, so that I may receive this awesome grace! I pray that I will never have to live without it!

I must admit that for many years of my life receiving the Eucharist did not feel special at all.  It was simply a routine in which I participated when I would attend mass.  I didn’t “feel” anything special.  As God has allowed my faith to grow, it has become more and more of an intimate experience for me.  Adoration of Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament has also given immeasurable graces.  Someone once explained adoration and reception of the Eucharist to me in these terms:  Being in Jesus’ Presence is like getting a suntan.  You visit the tanning salon, and you don’t see any results immediately, BUT there are cumulative effects.  Sooner or later, you will get a tan.  When you sit in the Presence of the Son, or receive Him into your body, the effects accumulate.  Eventually, you get a nice, golden, spiritual “tan.”  You are changed from the inside out!

Here are some of my favorite quotes about the Eucharist.  I hope that they can create even a small understanding of this Sacrament’s power to transform, and help you to long for Jesus in this miraculous species as well:

“If angels could be jealous of men, they would be so for one reason: Holy Communion.”
St. Maximilian Kolbe

“For One in such a lofty position to stoop so low is a marvel that is staggering. What sublime humility and humble sublimeness, that the Lord of the Universe, the Divine Son of God, should stoop as to hide Himself under the appearance of bread for our salvation!”
St. Francis of Assisi

When the Sisters are exhausted, up to their eyes in work; when all seems to go awry, they spend an hour in prayer before the Blessed Sacrament.  This practice has never failed to bear fruit: they experience peace and strength.”
-Mother Teresa

Do not think that Jesus Christ is forgetful of you, since He has left you,
as the greatest memorial and pledge of His love, Himself in the Most Holy
Sacrament of the Altar.”
– St. Alphonsus Liguori

“Do you realize that Jesus is there in the tabernacle expressly for you – for you alone? He burns with the desire to come into your heart…
“Receive Communion often, very often…there you have the sole remedy, if you want to be cured. Jesus has not put this attraction in your heart for nothing…”
“The Guest of our soul knows our misery; He comes to find an empty tent within us – that is all He asks.”
– St. Therese of Lisieux

When you look at the Crucifix, you understand how much Jesus loved you then. When you look at the Sacred Host you understand how much Jesus loves you now,” – Blessed Mother Theresa of Calcutta

“From the Eucharist comes strength to live the Christian life and zeal to share that life with others,” – Venerable Pope John Paul II

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, pierce my soul with Your love so that I may always long for You alone, who are the Bread of Angels and the fulfillment of the soul’s deepest desires. May my heart always hunger for You, so that my soul may be filled with the sweetness of Your presence.”  Amen.
– Saint Bonaventure

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Saints, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

