Grace in the Garden

I don’t know what came over me this morning.  I’m not sure if I was feeling sad, tired, or just introspective.  In any case, I found noise, and the sound of chattering voices to be strangely annoying.  My family kept talking to me, asking questions that required a response.  It was almost unbearable for me to have to open my mouth and to utter a half-hearted,  “Humpf.”  I felt guilty about my uninviting mood, but felt somewhat powerless to do anything about it.  I had just left mass, and should (in my own estimation) have been filled with joy and peace – ready to share these gifts with others.  That didn’t happen.

Once I arrived home, I couldn’t wait to get out of the car – to remove myself from the children in the backseat who seemed to be talking incessantly – round and round – about the same things.  I retreated to the garden.  My garden is one of the places in my little world where I feel closest to God – where I can escape the noise and confusion, and just take pleasure in simplicity.  I enjoy watering my plants and fertilizing them.  I enjoy pulling weeds, planting and transplanting.  I watch every stage of growth with wonder – in awe of God’s beautiful and diverse creations.

Today, as I pulled weeds, I asked God to pull the nasty “weeds” that had overgrown the garden of my soul – the weeds of selfishness, anger, impatience and intolerance.  I talked to God as I dug deeply into the moist earth with my bare hands.  I inspected a spiderweb glistening in the sun.  I watched a dragonfly circle overhead looking for the perfect place to land.

After having my thirty minutes of peace in the garden, I still felt like being quiet – maybe even taking a nap, but my patience was renewed and my mood – lightened.  Thank you, God, for giving me grace in the garden. 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, photo entry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

