Have Hope!

This morning, I lay awake in bed at about 6 a.m.  The room was in darkness, as the sun had not yet glided above the horizon, bathing all in light.  I listened to the myriad of bird songs taking place just outside my window – all joyfully announcing the coming dawn.

Their songs gave me a sense of peace and joy.  They reminded me of something a neighbor told me just a few days ago, in reference to her own personal trials of the moment:

Birds sing in darkness in anticipation of the sun.

We, too, may sing in (our own) darkness in anticipation of the Son.

I may not have worded it perfectly, but you get the idea.  Lately, it seems to me as though the whole earth is off kilter –  heaving – locally, nationally, globally…And yet, we may keep on singing because we, as Christians, have HOPE.

The birds this morning also reminded me of a poem from my favorite poet, Emily Dickinson:

Hope

Hope is the thing with feathers 
That perches in the soul, 
And sings the tune–without the words, 
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard; 
And sore must be the storm 
That could abash the little bird 
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land, 
And on the strangest sea; 
Yet, never, in extremity, 
It asked a crumb of me.

Have a great weekend, friends, and keep your face to the sun (Son).  We have great hope for this messed up world.  His name is Jesus.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

