Don’t Be Afraid to Dream Big!

I was flipping the channels last night, and came across a priest speaking on one of the local stations.  He was talking about the importance of having dreams.  I decided to give him a few minutes, before I continued my channel surfing.  What he had to say was actually pretty inspiring, so I continued to watch.

He told about how he had a dream of one day having his own television program so that he could reach more people with God’s message.  His only problem was that he had no money and absolutely no connections in the world of media– a seemingly insurmountable problem!  The thing is that God had put this desire for evangelization in the priest’s heart, and for God nothing is impossible!  Though it took several years, the priest held onto his dream and prayed about it.  Little by little, God put all of the pieces in place.  The priest is now spreading the Good News on TV!

I have heard so many stories of things like this happening to people who are prayerfully seeking God’s Will in their lives.  It has happened in my life as well.

Several years ago, I began having the desire to attend daily mass.  It was just a pipe dream, I thought!  I am an elementary school teacher who loves her work.  At the same time, as much as I love it, it is something I must do to help provide the basics for my family.  It is not possible for most teachers in my community to work full-time and attend daily, morning mass.  God stirred in me that desire to receive Him in the Eucharist more often, then He made a way where there was no way.

A year and a half ago, I was asked to take a position where I would coordinate religious events for our school in the morning and teach in the afternoon.  The flexibility in my schedule allows me to attend mass or at least visit the chapel almost every day.  What a beautiful, incredible blessing!

If you have a dream – if God has stirred something deep down in your soul, pray about it, patiently and persistently.  If that dream is God’s Will for you, He will make it happen, against all odds.I’m guesting on Ellen Gable Hrkach’s blog “Plot, Line and Sinker” today.  If you’d like to read that article, check out the website below:
http://ellengable.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/nfp-the-sacredness-of-sex/

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

