Craving Simplicity

(A picture I took at the Franklinton, LA Fair 2010)

Oh, how I would love to go out to the middle of nowhere – no noise, no television, no temptation to sin.  I would grow my own vegetables and flowers.  I would live simply – fever items of clothing, comfortable shoes, simple furniture.  I would sit at the breakfast table with my cup of warm coffee, looking out at the birds in the yard.  I would put in a day of hard work – laundry, cultivating, food preparation, and I would feel tired at the end of the day – but it would be a good tired.  I would take long walks in the woods hand in hand with my hubby, or stroll along a secluded path and talk to God.  I would see Him in everything around me – the sun, the clouds, the birds, the insects, my family.    Everything would be wonderful!

The grass is always greener, right?  In my daydream, there would be no insects destroying my “crops.”  There would be no drought, no monsoon – nothing to destroy that wonderful sense of peace.

God has put me where I am for a reason.  He has called me to a life as wife, mother and teacher in suburbia!  I take kids on retreat a few times a year to a wonderful place – a convent in rural Covington.  Each time that I go there, I think,  “I could have lived this life – a life of simplicity, prayer and contemplation.”  But, God did not choose this for me.  He has asked me to be a person in this world, but not of this world – Just like He has asked many of you!

It’s not easy.  The key, I think, to doing it well, is punctuating our days with frequent, heartfelt prayer so that we become more in tune to Our Loving Father’s presence.  It is in living as simply as we possibly can in this complicated world where such value has been placed on material things.  It is in trusting God’s faithfulness through the difficult times.  It is in being content with what we have, and where we are.

I’m feeling the need to clean closets, drawers and cabinets and purge our home of unnecessary things – give what we don’t need to charity.   I’m also trying this Lent to purge myself spiritually of all of the junk and clutter that fills the space that God should occupy.  Simplify, Simplify, Simplify. Contentment. Peace.  Ahh!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Craving Simplicity

  1. Kimberly says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such kind words. I am so glad you did because your post has really spoken to my heart. I agree 100% that we need to simplify and trust God in all things in our life. I really love your blog, especially scripture reflections. Thank you again for stopping by and I will be visiting you often. Have a wonderful evening.

Leave a Reply

