St. Theresa of Avila’s Bookmark

“Let nothing trouble you, let nothing frighten you.
All things are passing; God never changes.

Patience obtains all things.
He who possesses God lacks nothing:
God alone suffices.”   St. Theresa of Avila

Today has been a very difficult day for me mentally.  Sometimes, I awaken feeling depressed and vulnerable and just can’t seem to shake it.  Regretfully, Sunday has been one of those days for me. I went to the chapel for about an hour and a half this afternoon.  Then I went to the garden center and just wandered around aimlessly surrounded by flowers – some of my favorite things on the planet – still in a funk.  The above prayer is from one of my friends in heaven, St. Theresa of Avila.  My youngest son was born on October 15, her feast day.  Ironically, (or providentially) she is patron saint of headache sufferers.  I suffer from migraines often – had one yesterday as a matter of fact!  I ask her for prayers often, as I’m doing again today.  I cling to the beautiful words above, and trust that tomorrow will be better!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to St. Theresa of Avila’s Bookmark

  1. Arafea says:

    I love your blog! I just discovered it after you left such a nice comment on mine. Thank you for everything that you do, and thanks for the encouraging comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

