A House on a Rock

This Sunday will be the last liturgy in Ordinary time – at least for the time being.  Lent begins this Wednesday, following the Mardi Gras festivities here in the South.  The gospel this weekend is from Matthew 7: 21-27:

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’
will enter the kingdom of heaven,
but only the one who does the will of my Father in heaven.
Many will say to me on that day,
‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name?
Did we not drive out demons in your name?
Did we not do mighty deeds in your name?’
Then I will declare to them solemnly,
‘I never knew you. Depart from me, you evildoers.’

“Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them
will be like a wise man who built his house on rock.
The rain fell, the floods came,
and the winds blew and buffeted the house.
But it did not collapse; it had been set solidly on rock.
And everyone who listens to these words of mine
but does not act on them
will be like a fool who built his house on sand.
The rain fell, the floods came,
and the winds blew and buffeted the house.
And it collapsed and was completely ruined.”

There is a Casting Crowns video that my students love entitled, “American Dream.” It shows a father working in corporate America to try to give his family “the finer things.”  In the process, he misses out on his son growing up, and his marriage begins to crumble.  Sadly, I suspect that many of my students like this video because they can relate.  Is the American Dream all that it is cracked up to be?  Without faith, without family, all of the material possessions in the world don’t mean a darn thing.  St. Theresa of Avila says, “Those who possess God want for nothing.  God alone suffices.”  If we do not put God above everything and everyone in our lives, our work – instead of being sanctifying is just work, and our lives hollow.

Here are a few lines of the lyrics:

So he works and he builds with his own two hands.  And he pours all he has in a castle made with sand.   But the wind and the rain are comin’ crashing in. Time will tell just how long his kingdom stands.   His kingdom stands.   He used to say, “Whoever dies with the most toys wins.”  But if he loses his soul, what has he gained in the end?   I‘ll take a shack on the rock   Over a castle in the sand…

Let us build upon the rock – Our God is Almighty, All Powerful, All Strong – ever was, is and will be!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

