This is a Test

It’s Thursday, but it surely seems that it should be Friday by now! I feel as though life has sucked the motivation and inspiration right out of me.  I’m physically and mentally drained. Ironically, this seems to have made the children even more persistent.  My youngest started asking for a play date with a buddy as soon as he got into the car this afternoon.  As I tried to unload our vehicle when we arrived home , he actually followed me up and down the driveway with the telephone and the student directory.  “This is a test,” I said to myself,   “Can I be kind and patient even though there is not a cell in my body that feels like it?”  Hmmm.

The once sunny sky has been shrouded with a heavy blanket of dark clouds, a precursor to tomorrow expected thunderstorms. My mindset, sadly enough, is effected by the lack of natural light.  The combination of exhaustion and dreariness makes me want to crawl under the covers and shut the bedroom door.  Unfortunately, I can’t do that.

Jesus said, “Come to me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (Matthew 11:28-29)   I’m counting on it!

Do you notice as a wife, mother, employee – or while wearing one of many hats that we often wear – that depletion sets in when we’ve failed to spend adequate time with God?  I think that is what has happened to me today.  As women, we give, and give and give, but often don’t make the time to be filled.  We cannot give what we don’t have.  God wants to lavish us with His grace and fill us with joy, but He’s not going to force these gifts upon us. Instead, He waits patiently for us to come to Him.

I still have a couple of hours of mommy duty left this evening.  If I’m going to make it through, I’d better take my own advice.  Kneeler, here I come!

Tomorrow’s To Do List:

*pack lunches

*laundry

**God time!

*bank

*pay bills

*grocery…

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

