Praying From the Heart

People sometimes ask me how it is that I can pray in front of others off the top of my head.  Catholics are stereotypically most comfortable with the prayers they memorized as children, right?  I credit my ease in praying from the heart to my mother.  My mom is a wonderful, faithful Christian women who modeled prayer for us from a very young age.  She taught us to bow our heads and to close our eyes and to speak to God as we would speak to a father – He is our Father!

I still close my eyes when I pray today. When my students ask me about this practice, I tell them the truth.  I’m a “nosey rosy” – easily distracted – always having to see who’s entering the room and what he/she is wearing.  Closing my eyes fixes that problem and helps me to focus. Bowing the head is posture of reverence.

A couple of years ago, in a religion class that I was taking, I learned a formula for prayer to help people who are uncomfortable with speaking freely to God.  It’s called the ACTS prayer.  The A stands for adoration, the C for contrition, the T for thanksgiving and the S for supplication.  If you ever feel at a loss for words when talking to God, try it.  It’s simple.  Here’s an example:

A Almighty God, I praise Your Holy Name. C Lord, I ask your forgiveness for the times that I have let You down, specifically…  Have mercy on me.  T Thank You for all of the blessings that You have given to me, especially…S Please continue to provide for my needs and keep me always close to You.  Amen.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

