Sabbath Struggles

The third commandment tells us to honor the Sabbath.  “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.  Six days you shall labor and do all your work,  but the seventh day is a sabbath to the LORD your God. On it you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your male or female servant, nor your animals, nor any foreigner residing in your towns.  For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.” Exodus 20: 8-11

As a working mother, I sometimes struggle with pleasing the Lord on the sabbath.  I went to church this morning, but ever since I got home from mass, I’ve been working, trying to get caught up.  Yesterday, we had a special event that took our whole day.  On Friday night, our daughter marched in a parade, so that evening was “booked”  as well.  I try hard not to do unnecessary work or shopping on Sunday, however, today I failed miserably.  Working outside of the home, it is often difficult to get all of the week’s chores and obligations taken care of in six days.  If something comes and “steals away” Saturday, I’m doomed.

I moved a mountain today – a mountain of laundry that is!  I vacuumed, dusted, mopped, cleaned bathrooms, grocery shopped and paid bills.  It needed to be done, but I feel so guilty.  I hope that the Lord understands the plight of the working woman.  I do my best to be a faithful servant, but some weeks just get the best of me!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

