Kids Should Come With Instruction Manuals

God blessed me with three wonderful children.  Though they come from the same gene pool, they are incredibly different and special in their own ways.

When Eric and I had our first child, we thought that we such great parents.  Our firstborn did what he was supposed to do, never bucked the system, met all of the milestones, was loving and caring… You get the picture.  We chalked our sons abilities up to excellent parenting. Then he went off to kindergarten wailing and screaming. That year was really tough!

Next came our second child, a beautiful baby girl.  This child also met the milestones, was kind and generous, but she had a strong will for which I was totally unprepared!  Over the years, this trait has proven to be quite difficult with regard to parenting her.  She is an independent thinker.  She has always had her own sense of fashion – what she likes and dislikes.  She cannot be persuaded, coaxed, or even bribed into doing something she doesn’t want to do.  On the plus side, this can be a great thing when dealing with peer pressure.  While my oldest is self motivated, my middle child often seems to have not a care in the world. I envy her free spirit.

The baby, another boy, is actually not a baby anymore.  He’s six.  He is smart and very intense.  He locks onto one thing, toy or idea and focuses on that for a good length of time.  He is much more physical than my other two.  He loves to play outdoors.  He has two speeds – busy & totally zonked out.  I don’t have as much energy as I did when I had my first at 24 years of age.  Actually, I’ve never had much energy, and this one keeps me hopping!

Just when you think you’ve perfected the right strategy for handling different problems, issues and behaviors, the next kid puts a wrench in it.  What works for one doesn’t necessarily work for another.  We have all been created so wondrously different.

God surely has a sense of humor.  Couldn’t He find it in His heart to send the stork with a baby AND an instruction manual, unique to that child’s personality?  Ahhh!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

